Casuarina Senior College offers a wide range of subjects at Year Ten, Stage One and Stage Two level. Year Ten subjects have been developed using either the National Curriculum, and or the NT Board of Studies Year 10 Curriculum. Stage One and Stage Twio courses have been developed using SACE approved Learning and Assessment Plans. A variety of VET opportunities are available for students. Please see Careers for more information.

Year Ten

In Year Ten, students will study six subjects each semester comprising:

  • Year Ten Maths or Numeracy (full year)
  • Year Ten English/ESL or Literacy (full year)
  • Year Ten Science (full year)
  • Year Ten Humanities (one semester)
  • Stage One Personal Learning Plan (one semester)
  • Year Ten Health and Physical Education (one semester)
  • Three electives (either Year Ten or Stage One courses where appropriate.)

Some students in the Centre for Excellence will be offered opportunity for acceleration.

Stage One and Stage Two Courses and the NTCET

In Stage One, students enrol in six subjects each semester. Students must study English/Literacy for both semesters and Mathematics for a minimum of one semester. Each semester length subject contributes 10 points to towards the NTCET. Students should aim to have at least 120 credits before they commence Stage Two.

In Stage Two, students are encouraged to study five Stage Two subjects if they wish to achieve an Australian Tertiary Admissions Rank (ATAR). Most Stage 2 Subjects run for the whole year. Each year-length subject contributes 20 credits towards the NTCET.

What is the NTCET?

Students who successfully complete their senior secondary education are awarded the Northern Territory Certificate of Education and Training (NTCET). The NTCET will help students develop the skills and knowledge they need to succeed – whether they are headed for further education, training, an apprenticeship or into the workforce. Students commence their NTCET in Year Ten with the Personal Learning Plan.

NTCET Fact Sheet

What is the NTCET?

How do students get the NTCET?

Students can gain their NTCET in the equivalent of two years of full-time study; however, most students spread this over three years. There are two stages:

  • Stage One, which most students do in Year Eleven, (Personal Learning Plan is usually completed in Year Ten)
  • Stage Two, which most students do in Year Twelve.

Each subject or course successfully completed earns ‘credits’ towards the NTCET, with a minimum of 200 credits required for students to gain the certificate.

How are subjects graded?

Students will receive a grade from A to E for each subject (A+ to E- at Stage Two). For compulsory subjects, they will need to achieve a C grade or better.

What is compulsory?

The compulsory subjects are:

  • Personal Learning Plan Ten credits at Stage One (completed in Year Ten)
  • Literacy – 20 credits from a range of English subjects at Stage One
  • Numeracy – Ten credits from a range of Mathematics subjects at Stage One
  • Stage Two subjects totalling at least 60 credits.

The remaining 100 credits can be gained through additional Stage One or Stage Two subjects or SACE Board recognised courses of a student’s choice. NTCET students are required to complete 140 of the 200 credits at a C grade or better.